Riverton High School’s FFA banquet held and student honors awarded

By Tyler Kreitzer RHS Journalism Club

(Riverton, Wyo.) – On Thursday May 1, 2014 the FFA program at Riverton High School held its annual banquet to honor the students, parents, and supporters that make the FFA program a success each year. The night started with the banquet and was followed by the opening ceremony and the recognition of the following:

• 35 students attended the State FFA convention.

• 38 First year members received Green Hand Degrees. The Star Green Hand was awarded to Chase Emerson.

• 23 Students received Chapter Degrees.

• State Degrees were awarded to the following 7 students: Jamie Walker, Wyatt Griffin, Tenikah Dolbow, Katie Thayer, Stephanie Joy, Rylee Crippen, and Shay Cunningham.

• Star Farmer Award went to Wyatt Griffin.

• Leadership Awards were given to: Freshman Braxton Crofts, Sophmore Katie Hazlewood, Junior Macy Bates, and Senior Shay Cunningham.

• Honorary Degrees were awarded to: Mic Pryor from Edward Jones, Joyce Hazelwood, and Tom and Kristen Paulsen.

The following students were installed as Chapter Officers for the 2014-2015 School Year:

President-Katie Hazelwood

Vice President-Olivia Mercer

2nd Vice President-TJ Paulsen

Secretary – Chase Emerson

Treasurer-Troy Cassity

Reporter-Tia Gopp

Sentenel – Vanessa Powell

Parliamentarian-Braxton Crofts

Historian-Macy Bates

The FFA program would like to offer a special thanks to all who have supported the students and helped them through their many endeavors