Resolution introduced into US Senate to declare July 26th Day of the American Cowboy

(Washington, D.C.) – U.S. Senators Mike Enzi and John Barrasso, both R-Wyo., joined 10 of their colleagues in introducing a resolution today that would declare July 26 the Day of the American Cowboy. This is the ninth year the resolution has been introduced and serves to honor the accomplishments and contributions of cowboys from around the nation.
U.S. Senator Craig Thomas, who served Wyoming in the United States Senate from 1995-2007, started the tradition of naming the fourth Saturday in July “National Day of the American Cowboy” in 2005. Since Thomas’ passing, Enzi and Barrasso have continued the tradition in honor of his legacy. The day annually coincides with Cheyenne Frontier Days.

“More than a tradition, the American cowboy has been a part of the spirit and culture of the United States for generations,” said Enzi. “Their reputation for honesty and hard work embody the way of life we in Wyoming strive for every day. The National Day of the American Cowboy is our way to acknowledge the contributions cowboys have made throughout history and the continued impact they have on our nation today.”
     “The American cowboy symbolizes the spirit, values and traditions that people in Wyoming cherish most,” said Barrasso.“Washington could benefit from adhering to the cowboy’s commitment to honesty, integrity and hard work. I look forward tojoining Senator Enzi in honoring America’s cowboys and cowgirls across the state of Wyoming.”

Senators Mike Crapo, R-Idaho, Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D., John Hoeven, R-N.D., James Inhofe, R-Okla., Mike Johanns, R-Neb., Tim Johnson, D-S.D., Jeff Merkley, D-Ore., Jim Risch, R-Idaho, Jon Tester, D-Mont., and John Walsh, D-Mont., are also cosponsors of the resolution.

A copy of the resolution can be found here.