Shoshoni man is first Fremont County winner in initial WyoLotto drawing

(Cheyenne, Wyo.) – The Wyoming Lottery today announced that the first lottery ticket will be purchased at noon on Sunday, Aug. 24  by Mary Ogg at the Holiday Station, located at 936 Brundage Road in Sheridan. Shoshoni resident Scot Fegler was a runner-up in the contest to be the first to purchase a WyoLotto ticket.  Fegler won $1,000 and MegaMillions tickets for one year.

The big winner, Ogg, was chosen randomly from among the more than 27,000 entrants in a giveaway the Lottery created to promote its upcoming launch.  The actual drawing was held on Saturday in order to verify entries. Wyoming Governor Matt Mead and Secretary of State Max Maxfield read the winners names today during a press conference at WyoLotto Headquarters in Cheyenne.

In addition to purchasing the first lottery ticket sold in Wyoming, Ogg also won a 2014 Jeep® Wrangler and free Mega Millions® tickets for a year.

Secretary of State Maxfield also announced the names of eight other winners, who each won $1,000 and free Mega Millions® tickets for a year. The eight additional winners were drawn from entries received in each of the Wyoming Lottery’s eight geographical areas.

“The Lottery is for all of Wyoming,” said Wyoming Lottery CEO, Jon Clontz. “So we wanted to ensure that the entire state was represented by our winners. These nine were randomly selected from the more than 27,000 giveaway entries that came from virtually every corner of Wyoming.”

Grand Prize Winner
Mary Ogg, Sheridan

Area Winners

  1. Casper: Marion Rohrer
  2. Cody: Samm Ringgenberg
  3. Rawlins: Leslie Gustamantes
  4. Rock Springs: Ken Burton
  5. Jackson: LJ Bickner
  6. Shoshoni: Scot Fegler
  7. Sheridan: Carol Garcia
  8. Wheatland: Jin Hun Min

The official launch of Powerball® and Mega Millions® sales by the Wyoming Lottery is August 24. For more information about where tickets will be sold, visit